Independent local reporting on South Charlotte Watch on YouTube
Schools

Fort Mill School Enrollment Grew by 29 Students Last Year

Fort Mill School District added 29 students in the 2024-25 school year. That figure comes from the district itself, on its own enrollment counts page, and it sits at the bottom of a table that shows the same district adding 1,010 students in 2017-18 and 905 in 2019-20. Total enrollment is 18,444, the highest it has ever been. The growth rate is 0.16 percent, the smallest annual increase in the twenty-three school years the table covers, apart from the one year enrollment actually fell.

If you’re looking at Fort Mill because of the schools, that one line is worth sitting with, because it doesn’t match what you’ve probably been told about this part of York County. Below you’ll find what the district’s own counts show year by year, what the district built while growth was flattening, what happened to the page that used to tell you which schools were closed to new students, and what you should check yourself before you buy a house on the strength of a school assignment.

14 min read | Living in South Charlotte

South Charlotte Relocation Guide

Free · 26-Page Insider Guide

Weighing Fort Mill against the NC side?

Towns compared, NC vs SC taxes and schools side by side, and the 5 mistakes out-of-state buyers make.

Get the free guide

What This Story Covers

The short answer

Fort Mill school enrollment is still rising, but barely. The district’s published counts show 18,444 students in 2024-25, an increase of 29 over the prior year. Four years earlier the district was adding students by the thousand-per-three-years pace that built its reputation. The schools remain among the strongest performers in South Carolina on state tests, and that has not changed with the growth curve.

The Short Answer

Fort Mill School District grew by 29 students in 2024-25, its smallest increase on a table going back to 2002-03. Enrollment is still at a record 18,444. Growth slowed; it did not reverse.

Key numbers, Fort Mill School District, 2002-03 through 2024-25 (sources: Fort Mill School District published enrollment counts, South Carolina Department of Education results as reported by the district):

  • 18,444 students enrolled in 2024-25, the latest school year the district has posted
  • 29 students added in 2024-25, a growth rate of 0.16 percent
  • 1,010 students added in 2017-18, the largest single-year gain on the table
  • 343 added in 2022-23, then 210 in 2023-24, then 29 in 2024-25
  • 5,929 students in 2002-03, so the district has roughly tripled across the table
  • No 2025-26 or 2026-27 figure is posted on the district’s enrollment counts page as of September 13, 2026
Fort Mill School District enrollment and annual change, selected school years, from the district’s published enrollment counts page. Checked September 13, 2026.
School yearTotal enrollmentStudents addedSource document
2002-035,929341FMSD enrollment counts
2017-1815,1651,010FMSD enrollment counts
2019-2017,056905FMSD enrollment counts
2020-2116,951-105FMSD enrollment counts
2021-2217,862911FMSD enrollment counts
2022-2318,205343FMSD enrollment counts
2023-2418,415210FMSD enrollment counts
2024-2518,44429FMSD enrollment counts

I went looking for the Fort Mill enrollment freeze and found something I wasn’t expecting. The district publishes a plain table of its own enrollment going back to 2002, and I’d read past it a dozen times without stopping. Reading it end to end took about a minute, and the last line does more to explain what is happening in this part of York County than anything I could have pieced together from listings.

Talk to a local broker

Buying in Fort Mill for the schools?

Bring me the address you are considering and I will walk you through how to confirm its assignment with the district. No pressure, just answers.

Schedule a 15-Minute Introductory Call

704-774-7170  ·  steve@jarrellhomes.com  ·  thelongleafgroup.com

What the district’s own enrollment counts show

The district posts a single table of total enrollment, students added and percentage growth for every school year from 2002-03 forward, and it runs through 2024-25. That table is the primary record here, and you can read it yourself on the Fort Mill School District enrollment counts page. Every figure below is read off that one table and nothing else.

The shape of it is easy to miss because the totals keep climbing. Enrollment went from 5,929 in 2002-03 to 18,444 in 2024-25, which is the number most people quote when they say Fort Mill has tripled. That part is true. What gets lost is the third column.

Look at students added rather than students enrolled and the picture changes. The district added 1,010 students in 2017-18, 986 in 2018-19 and 905 in 2019-20. Then 2020-21 came in at negative 105, the only decline on the table. The following year snapped back to 911. And then it fell away: 343 in 2022-23, 210 in 2023-24, and 29 in 2024-25.

Add the last three posted years together and you get 582 students. That is fewer than the district took in during 2017-18 alone. I’d call that the single most useful number on the page, and the district prints it without comment.

One caveat you should carry. The enrollment counts page does not state which count date each figure uses, and districts in both Carolinas commonly report a 45th-day or similar official count. The relative movement year over year is the point here rather than any one figure to the student.

Does a slower count mean Fort Mill has stopped growing?

No. Enrollment is at its all-time high of 18,444, and the district has not posted a year of decline since 2020-21. What changed is the rate of addition, not the direction. A district that adds 29 students is still a district that is full of the students it added over the previous twenty years.

That distinction matters for you in a practical way. Total enrollment is what fills a building. Students added is what forces a district to build another one. Fort Mill spent two decades in the second condition and is now, on its own published numbers, in the first.

It’s also worth saying what these figures do not tell you. The table is district-wide. It says nothing about which individual schools are near capacity and which have room, and a district can be flat in total while one attendance area keeps filling and another empties out. If you want school-level capacity you have to go to the district for it; it is not on this page, and I could not find it published anywhere else on the site.

The table also stops at 2024-25. As of September 13, 2026, the district has not posted a 2025-26 figure, and it has not posted anything for the year now under way. So the most recent number available to you is more than a year old, and it is the district’s own most recent number too.

The district kept adding schools while growth flattened

Fort Mill has two schools carrying the Flint Hill name, both of them on Gold Hill Road, and one is opening its doors this school year. The district’s schools directory lists Flint Hill Elementary School at 392 Gold Hill Road and Flint Hill Middle School at 360 Gold Hill Road, Fort Mill, SC 29715. The district does not state an opening date for either one on the pages I could reach, so treat the elementary as established and the middle school as new this year.

Flint Hill Middle School is operating now. Its school site was live when I checked on September 13, 2026, carrying a 2026-2027 school supply list and a school board meeting on its September calendar, so this is its opening year rather than a plan on a page.

Set that next to the enrollment table and you get the tension at the centre of this story. A school building takes years to plan, fund and open, and the students it was sized for are forecast long before it has a roof. Flint Hill Middle is opening into a district that added 29 students in the most recent year it has reported. That is not a criticism of anyone’s planning, and I want to be careful here, because a district that guesses low ends up with trailers in the parking lot. It is what the two documents say when you read them side by side.

Fort Mill school enrollment growth fell from 1,010 students added in 2017-18 to 29 students added in 2024-25, per the district's published enrollment counts.
Students added per year, from the Fort Mill School District enrollment counts page. Every figure on this card also appears as text in the table above.

The geography is the part worth noticing. The new Flint Hill campuses are on Gold Hill Road, in the same corridor as Gold Hill Elementary and Gold Hill Middle, which are the schools most often named when people talk about Fort Mill crowding. New capacity went in where the pressure was said to be.

The enrollment freeze page is gone from the district site

The district’s new student enrollment FAQ still asks “Where can I find information about schools experiencing an enrollment freeze?” and still answers it with a link. That link, to fortmillschools.org/departments/registration/enrollment-freeze, returns a 404 page. I checked it three times on September 13, 2026, spaced apart, and got the same result each time. The FAQ page carrying the link returns normally.

Here is what that does and does not establish. It establishes that the district’s public site no longer serves a page listing which schools are closed to new enrollment, while its own FAQ still points you at one. It does not establish that any particular freeze has been lifted. A page can come down for a dozen reasons, and a site migration is as likely an explanation as a policy change.

So I am not going to tell you the freeze is over, because I cannot show you a document that says so. What I can tell you is that the route the district gives you for checking has a hole in it right now, and that if a freeze matters to your purchase you need to ask the district directly rather than trust a page, a listing remark, or an agent. You can read the FAQ entry yourself on the district’s new student enrollment FAQ.

A note on that FAQ page while you are there: it carries dates from the prior school year in several answers, including a first-day-of-school date and a registration deadline that have both passed. Treat the procedural detail on it as needing confirmation too.

The 404 is the thing I keep coming back to. A buyer doing exactly the right homework, starting at the district’s own FAQ rather than a real estate site, lands on a dead page and has no way to know whether that means the freeze ended or the link simply broke. I couldn’t tell from the outside either, and that’s worth saying plainly rather than picking whichever answer sounds more confident. Call the district office before you write an offer that depends on the answer.

Fort Mill schools still lead South Carolina on test scores

Whatever the enrollment curve is doing, the academic results have not followed it down. In a post dated August 10, 2026, the district reported that on the most recent South Carolina Department of Education results its students had the highest overall scores in the state in every grade in SC Ready English language arts, and the highest scores in grades 3, 4, 7 and 8 in SC Ready math.

The district also reported the highest scores in the state in both tested grades for SC Ready Science, which is given in grades 4 and 6, and the highest scores among traditional school districts on the End of Course exams in English 2, Biology and United States History.

Superintendent Grey Young put it this way in that announcement: “These results are something our entire community can be proud of. They reflect the hard work of our students, the skill and dedication of our teachers and staff, and the support of our families. While we are proud to see Fort Mill students continue to perform among the very best in South Carolina, our focus remains on continuous improvement and making sure every student has the opportunity to grow and succeed.”

Two things to keep straight about that. These are the district’s own characterisations of state results, published by the district, and you can read the announcement in full. And district-level results are an average across roughly twenty schools; they do not tell you how the specific school serving a specific address performed. For that you want the state report card for that individual school.

If you’re weighing this against the North Carolina side of the line, the comparison is less tidy than it looks, because the two states test differently and rate schools differently. We walked through how much the border actually changes in Indian Trail to Indian Land: what the state line changes, and the tax half of that question in South vs North Charlotte.

Talk to a local broker

Comparing Fort Mill with the Union County side?

A quick call with a broker who works both sides of the state line every week, and who will tell you where each one is weaker.

Book a 15-minute call
Moving To Fort Mill SC or Waxhaw NC? Watch This First! This one sits here because the Fort Mill against Waxhaw decision is the one most buyers reading this are actually making.

What should you check before you buy for the schools?

Confirm the assignment for the exact address with the district before you write an offer, and treat every other source as a lead rather than an answer. That includes this post. School assignment is the single most common thing buyers get wrong in this market, and it is wrong in both directions: people assume a town name carries a school, and people assume an assignment is permanent.

The district points you at a locator tool run by the GIS department of York County in partnership with the county’s school districts, and it publishes PDF attendance area maps for elementary, middle and high school by grade level and school year. Both are on the school attendance maps page. The district’s instruction, in its own words on that page, is that if schools are not assigned to a particular address inside district boundaries you should contact the district office, and it gives the number 803-548-2527.

A few specifics worth writing down before you start looking:

Your mailing address is not your school. This catches people constantly on the North Carolina side, where a home with one town’s mailing address sits in another town’s attendance area entirely. We took one example apart in detail in our piece on Elmbrook, which has a Weddington mailing address and is not zoned to Weddington schools. The same mechanism applies in York County.

An assignment today is not an assignment in three years. Fort Mill opened two schools on Gold Hill Road inside two years, and opening a school means redrawing lines around it. If you are buying with a rising kindergartener in mind, you are buying into a boundary that has a decent chance of moving before they finish elementary school.

Ask about the school, not the district. A district-wide result tells you very little about the building your child would walk into. Pull the South Carolina report card for that specific school and read it yourself.

And if you’re comparing the South Carolina side to the North Carolina side at all, do it on the full cost and commute picture rather than schools alone. Plenty of buyers cross the line for reasons that have nothing to do with test scores, which we covered in why Charlotte buyers keep crossing into Indian Land.

Frequently Asked Questions About Fort Mill School Enrollment

How many students are in Fort Mill School District?

18,444 students in the 2024-25 school year, which is the most recent figure the district has published on its enrollment counts page as of September 13, 2026. No 2025-26 or 2026-27 total has been posted there.

Is Fort Mill School District still growing?

Yes, but slowly. The district added 29 students in 2024-25, a growth rate of 0.16 percent. That is the smallest increase on a table running back to 2002-03, apart from 2020-21, when enrollment fell by 105 students.

Why did Fort Mill school enrollment growth slow down?

The district publishes the numbers without an explanation, and no primary document reviewed for this story states a cause. What the table shows is the sequence: 911 students added in 2021-22, then 343, then 210, then 29.

Is there still an enrollment freeze at Gold Hill or Pleasant Knoll?

That cannot be confirmed from the district website right now. The new student enrollment FAQ still links to an enrollment freeze page, and that link returned a 404 error on September 13, 2026. Contact the district office at 803-548-2527 to get a current answer.

What new schools has Fort Mill opened recently?

Flint Hill Elementary School at 392 Gold Hill Road and Flint Hill Middle School at 360 Gold Hill Road both appear in the district schools directory. The Flint Hill Middle School site was live on September 13, 2026 with a 2026-2027 school supply list posted.

How do I find out which Fort Mill school an address is assigned to?

Use the online school locator tool run by the GIS department of York County, linked from the district school attendance maps page, and confirm it with the district. The district also publishes PDF attendance area maps by grade level and school year.

About the Author

Steve Jarrell is the team lead of The Longleaf Group, a team at eXp Realty, which he co-leads with his wife Amanda. He is a licensed broker in both North Carolina and South Carolina, which is the practical reason a story like this one gets written here: the state line runs straight through the middle of the market, and questions about schools, taxes and boundaries rarely stop politely at it.

Before real estate, Steve joined VisualTour as President, led its rebrand to Paradym and led the company to its acquisition by Constellation Software in 2020. That background is why he reaches for the source document rather than the summary, and why a district spreadsheet nobody has opened tends to be the thing that makes a post worth publishing. The Longleaf Group is an eXp ICON Team serving Weddington, Waxhaw, Marvin, Matthews, Mint Hill, Indian Trail, Monroe, Ballantyne, Pineville, Fort Mill, Tega Cay and Indian Land. Reach him at 704-774-7170.

How we sourced this

Every enrollment figure above comes from the Fort Mill School District’s own enrollment counts page, read directly on September 13, 2026. The academic results and the quotation from Superintendent Grey Young come from the district announcement dated August 10, 2026. School addresses come from the district schools directory, and the assignment guidance and phone number from the school attendance maps page. The enrollment freeze finding rests on the new student enrollment FAQ and on three separate requests to the page it links to, each returning a 404.

Three things were left out because they could not be confirmed against a primary source in the time this was written, and a number without a document behind it does not belong in a post like this one. A bond referendum figure and its date, widely repeated online, is not stated on any district page we could reach. A York County school impact fee amount, also widely repeated, could not be confirmed because the county page that would carry it returns a 404 and the county site rate-limits automated requests. An opening date for Flint Hill Elementary, widely reported as 2025, is not stated on the school site or the district directory, so no opening year is claimed for it above. And the district has published no enrollment projection study we could locate, so nothing above forecasts anything.

No property value claim appears anywhere above, in either direction, because no study establishing one exists. No specific address-to-school assignment is stated, because the district’s own locator and office are the only authority on that.

Last updated: September 13, 2026